1978 Mt. Vernon Mountaineer state champs recognized Friday night

Members of the 1978 Mt. Vernon Mountaineers pose for a picture at the Mt. Vernon Mt’neers 2018 homecoming game. The 1978 team is the only Mt. Vernon High School football team to ever win a state championship; they defeated St. Louis Country Day 37-21 in the State Championship Game in November of 1978, ending the season 13-0. The game was played at the St. Louis Country Day’s campus, and it was the last year a high school football championship game was ever played at a high school campus. The members of the team who were present to be recognized were: front row, Doug Wilks, Don Jennings, Doug Blevins, Tim Enlow, Alan McCoy, Kent Waggoner. Middle row, Iantha Wozniak, Rob Miller, Jerry Moenkhoff, Scott Schmidly, Steve Owens, Kevin Morris, Jim Kennedy, David Watson, Kenneth Yount. Back row, Kent Rust, Jeff Walster, Doug Williams, G.E. Cupps, Dan Breeden, Doug Doss, Terry Jensen, Jeff Phillips, Rick Kane and Randy Sallee. (Photo by Steve Chapman)


Lawrence County Record

312 S. Hickory St.
Mt. Vernon, MO, 65712


Please Login for Premium Content